Remote Desktop: Prompt before logging off user

Posted on

QUESTION :

I have a Windows XP Pro machine that I regularly log into remotely to work on. If there is already a user logged into the machine it will inform the user that someone is trying to log in and that they will be logged off and gives them 30 seconds to cancel the operation before timing out and letting me log in.

Now, when I try into my Windows 7 Ultimate machine, if there is user already logged in it just allows me to log in without prompting.

Is there any way to make the RDP server prompt the logged in user before letting me log in remotely?

ANSWER :

I also remote into my Windows 7 Ultimate machine, which has three user accounts. Here’s what occurs for me:

  • If no account is logged in, no one receives a prompt and I’m able to remotely connect immediately
  • If my remote account is logged in, no one receives a prompt and I’m able to remotely connect immediately
  • If one of the two other accounts is logged in, they receive the 30 second prompt that I’m attempting to log in remotely

Is this what you are experiencing?

This article might help you to enable Concurrent Sessions on the Win7 computer.

Enabling Concurrent Sessions allows you to Remote Desktop into a system that someone else is on, under a different user account, and access the system without kicking the user off.

Guide: How to Enable Concurrent Sessions in Windows 7 RTM

(Note: I haven’t had the opportunity to test this at first-hand.)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.